Global Art Agency News

International. Contemporary. Art.

Performance Artist Christine Walters “My work is best described as an ‘experience’.” Tokyo International Art Fair

Studio Pic 4 (photo by Colin S Johnson)Christine Walters (USA) who will take part at the Tokyo International Art Fair is a Performance Artist who paints the abstract of LIVE DJ music. Walters comes from an artistically divers family which she accredits her love for combining music and performance painting.  For Christine music is not just music, it’s a medium that spills onto a surface. – “It will be a spectacular show at the Tokyo International Art Fair.”

About Christine Walters:

Christine is a Performance Artist who paints the abstract of LIVE DJ music. In her process she incorporates themed theatrical costume, video, photography and movement.

Born in Indiana, schooled in Alabama and cultured in New York City Walters comes from an artistically divers family which she accredits her love for combining music and performance painting.

Christine has been an artist for several years but decided to switch over to paint a few years back. After living in New York City for several years and being cultured by underground club scene DJ’s it was only natural to merge the two together. For Christine music is not just music, it’s a medium that spills onto a surface.

Studio Pic 5How would you describe yourself? And your artwork?

Nick named Ginger Ninja by my former Japanese co-workers, I am lover of talented DJ’s, fine whiskey, karaoke, large canvases, and cool art supplies. My work is best described by my photographer as an “experience”.

What drives you?

Music, imaginary and light. A sunset is not just a sunset. It’s lighting sets a post apocalyptic atmospheric glow with hard DJ music, gas masks, fire, dark make up, insane hair and me painting on the hood of a car amongst people who look like they walked straight off the set of Mad Max. Or when in an abandoned boiler room seeing the recreation of a vampire movie scene where fake blood sprays onto the masked dancing crowd while I paint as an albino vampire. Creating in the most unusual setting is a major artistic turn on for me.

(Artwork Pic 1) BY CHANCEWhat is your definition of art?

Art is a personal expression for a collector and the creator. The people I keep in my creative circle have a similar non-conformist approach to creating in their artistic medium. Traditional definitions and ideologies of art feel boxed in and constricted. I am not a trained artist, I’m a trained business executive so I take risks that most artists might not feel comfortable taking. Fear does not control the outcome of what is being created. This is seen by the hints of reckless creative behavior that are sprinkled through my work with broken glasses, plastic cups and other unidentified things. Having fun and letting those around me experience the creative process makes for a memorable end work of art captured in a painting, video, music and photography.

Studio Pic 6 Photo by (Colin S Johnson)Can you tell us what you have going on right now?

I am very excited to joining the show in Tokyo. I worked for a Japanese company for over 13 years and fell in love with Japan’s culture so this is a special treat for me to be able to paint and also see my old friends. My costume theme will be based on the Mad Max theme. My costume will represent a strong feminine presence of empowerment and creative freedom.

Can you tell us what your ‘Before I Die’ is?

I will have a theatre specifically for performance painting shows where the sets are elaborate, have story lines, actors, costume changes, killer top rated DJ’s and whatever we can dream up. My vision of performance art that combines all artistic mediums in a setting that is majestic is a matter of timing and continuing to build a solid core team to pull it off.

Visit: www.christinewalterstheartist.com

Twitter: LiveArtLondon
Instagram: LiveArtLondon
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Christinewalterstheartist

About Joelle Dinnage

Leave a Reply

Follow us on Twitter

Visit our website

