Global Art Agency News

International. Contemporary. Art.

Live performance art at the Amsterdam International Art Fair by USA artist Christine Walters


Painting Cuddle Up photo by Colin S JohnsonChristine Walters is a Performance Artist who paints the abstract of LIVE DJ music. Born in Indiana, schooled in Alabama and cultured in New York City, Walters comes from an artistically diverse family. She accredits her love for combining music and performance painting to her informative early years.

After living in New York City for several years Christine fell in love with the music of the underground club scene. While living in New York she was an extra music videos, blockbuster movies, was in community theater, was in a 50’s singing group, sang the National Anthem, played the trumpet, did some art and studied dance in a Brooklyn, NY studio for several years. It was in 2010 that she decided to start painting. From there it was natural to add the performance aspect to her painting.

Music is the most important aspect of her artistic process. The music creates the colors and the flow of the painting. For Christine music is not just music, it’s a medium that spills onto a surface.

Christine will be performing live at the Amsterdam International Art Fair 28-29 August 2015 at the Beurs van Berlage on music played by DJ Luxxx. 

Where do you get your inspiration…?
Music, whiskey, great costumes and being surrounded by people who are having a great time.

How do you deal with artist’s block…?
My cure all to artist’s block involves a nice Whiskey, new music genre’s, dancing and experimentation.

Can you tell us what your ‘Before I Die’ is…?
I would like to be acknowledged as one of the greater, most unique performance artists/painters in my time.

Which are your favorite artists…?
I try to avoid mentally registering comparisons to other well known artists. However, the one comparison that has stuck is Pollock. We have a lot in common. Our love for undisciplined creation, dysfunctional relationships, booze and similarities in style. Since music drives my work I tend to think about my favorite artist in musical terms. My music stretches over several genre’s and all for different reasons. For example, the group Crystal Castles is great for lots of blues, greens and reds. The genre Drum and Bass as well as others with heavy bass lines are great for reds, vibrant yellows, black and white. My favorites are as follows but never limited to Crystal Castles, Radiohead, Koda, Nearly all Old School Hip Hop, Bollywood, Trap music and Zero 7. I have over 10,000 songs in my iTunes library to paint to so it is hard to pick just one.

My happy place is…?
I love when I get to that place where everything around me literally drips into the background and I become apart of the painting itself. That is my happy place and when I do my best work.

What makes your art different than others…?
My band teacher (who I still admire to this day) once told me to try normal just for a while until I make more friends. “I do not friend “normal”” I explained. When I decided to paint I observed a hand full of painters and most were “normal” to watch. I do not want to just “paint live”, I wanted to make a performance and give people something to talk about, interesting photos, great music and a painting that could not be recreated, fully documented and rich story line. I happened to discover a reoccurrence of colors in my head one late night while listening to a remix of a Cure song. I listened to the song over and over. It was an awakening of sorts. The next day I bought loads of paint and canvases. From there I wanted to combine my love for LIVE DJ music. I met my first collaborative musician DJ Cosmo Lubbertazzo. We came together with equipment, supplies and Colin Johnson photographer. It was at Artomatic in Washington DC where DubStep #2 was created. Music creates it’s own colors, shapes and patterns which is why I love working with DJ’s. They all have a different sound and uniqueness to their style which transforms into a piece of art.

Connect with Christine:

Website url: www.liveart.london
Twitter: www.twitter.com/liveartlondon
Facebook: www.facebook.com/liveart.london


Amsterdam International Art Fair

About Joelle Dinnage

Leave a Reply

