Global Art Agency News

International. Contemporary. Art.

Conceptual Photography by Fu Wenjun top-class artist, a first-order photographer in China exhibiting Amsterdam International Art Fair.

Under Bodhi Tree Fu Wenjun conceptual photography 140x175cm 2014-2015

Fu Wenjun (Chinese: 傅文俊; pinyin: Fù Wénjùn, born 1955), Born in Chongqing in 1955, he graduated from Sichuan Fine Arts Institute. Currently he is a freelance artist, is a member of the China Photographer Association, and of the America Professional Photographer of America (PPA). A top-class artist, a first-order photographer in China, he has been repeatedly a member of the evaluation committee in several art competitions. He held art exhibitions in Paris in the Grand Palais des Champs-Elysées, in New York in the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, in Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum, in Yokohama Art Museum, in Hong Kong City Hall, in Dubai Community Theatre and Arts Center, in Bangkok Art and Culture Center, in China Military Museum, in Beijing Today Art Museum, in the Old Summer Palace, in Guangdong Museum of Art, in Yunnan Provincial Museum, in Chongqing Art Gallery, in Shanghai Library, in Chongqing Library, in China Sanxia Museum (in Chongqing), and other important art organizations.

Fu Wenjun studioIn 2009 he received an international award at AJAC Yokohama International Overseas Artists Exhibition. In 2011 and 2012 he received twice the International Excellent Article Prize; in 2012 was recognized as “one of the best contemporary artists with academic value and market potential”, and received an international prize as “world outstanding Chinese artist”. In 2013 he held a collateral exhibition at the 55th Venice Art Biennale, entitled Voice of the Unseen Chinese Independent Art 1979/Today.

Fu Wenjun has been invited to exhibit at the Amsterdam International Art Fair 28-29 August 2015 at the Beurs van Berlage.

“Influenced by my father, since I was a little boy, I love art. In 1983, I entered the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute, beginning to study the art professionally. The photography is always an art form that I love and experiment. In the 1990’s I got in touch with the conceptual photography that was just introduced into China. Beside of using the camera to record, it becomes possible for the artist to express his ideas and thinking with his photos. So from then on, I have been doing the conceptual photography.”

Where do you get your inspiration…?
The contemporary art is about problem awareness. The conceptual artists make use of various art forms to express their ideas on the issues of society, politics, economy, history, culture etc. In the recent years, I travel around the world with my camera, taking pictures of interesting things as the creation source materials, which will help me to present my subjective thinking in my works.

Where do you see your art going in ten years…?
In my conceptual photography works, I always try to present my thinking about the issues on history, culture and humanity in the Western and Eastern World. In terms of artistic value, my works, using photography as media, show also beautiful colors and structure like a painting. I think I will explore along this way.

What makes your art different than others…?
I think the traditional culture of an artist’s home country should be deeply rooted in his mind, like the root of his art evergreen tree. In my conceptual photography works, I usually use the traditional Chinese art figures; even though things have changed with the lapse of time, these art figures can still have their new meaning and new interpretation in a new era and in my artworks. I have participated many international art exhibitions around the world, and I find that the audience always love more the artworks with these traditional Chinese elements.

What is so interesting about the current art market…?
It has been about 170 years since the invention of the daguerreotypeprocess of photography. Now the art market pays more and more attention to the photography art. Around the world, we can find many photo festivals and art fairs. There are more and more photography art collectors. I think the technology has changed our life, and will also change the art market.

Email: fu1955@qq.com
www.fuwenjun.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Fu_Wenjun
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/wenjunfuart?fref=ts

WWW.AMSTERDAMARTFAIR.COM

About Joelle Dinnage

Leave a Reply

