Global Art Agency News

International. Contemporary. Art.

Tashi Khan at The Oxford International Art Fair 2016

Tashi Khan (United Kingdom)

1
I was born into a family where art and culture were important and had been important for generations. I  imbibed an early appreciation of the arts from her immediate environment from as far back as i can remember.
I have dabbled in other fields such as fashion designing, campaigns for fashion shows, writing and designing for fashion magazines.
       
I had been working for international expositions, exhibitions and    Conferences in India, which I continued to do when I came to the UK.
I also ran my own advertising agency in India.
 
I did participate in a show in Olympia where I was commissioned to do art work for individuals; I also finished an assignment while working for an upcoming exhibition. Due to broken ankle slowed my targets but while wheelchair bound I did commissioned portraits for individuals and I continued to paint portraits, caricatures, murals for homes,
until it dawned on me that it was time for me to do my own exhibition and my own art instead of doing for individuals and companies.
 4
 
Q & A With Khan:
 

Q1- How would you describe yourself… And your artworks…?

Poets and artists came and stayed for long periods doing family portraits and art. I  remembers watching spellbound as they worked with brushes, knives and pallets. My parents recognised my  interest and inclination and encouraged me to paint. I  have not looked back.

I am positive, I like to spread happiness, so my colours are vibrant

and my art is usually happy and pleasing to the eyes, my art was very abstract but had to change according to people’s taste to

be more mainstream but that is constricting me, and I would like to have freedom to express my inner passion to be myself.

I would describe my art as cubist, modern, contemporary  My work is a dialogue in contemporary times, a narrative that resonates a sense of precariousness that has come to signify our times. If anything, it challenges the sense of the immovable, the permanent. It embraces vulnerability & fragility. The focus shifts from the changes that are observable & felt to those that are often unacknowledged & immutable, a sense that the beliefs & certainties that defined our world have changed irrevocably.
Yet it is not a lament. It is an invitation to look at the poignant or the momentous & seek ordinary pleasures. To honour transience, reflecting on the everyday moments that it depicts, to look remember & to serve as a reminder that new forms always emerge & refresh what seems momentary or constant.
 
 

Q – 2 – Where do you get your inspiration?

 Tashi –  Mostly my dreams, but I can get inspired by moments, people, going out, situations.

A chance, a word.

1 

Q – 3 can you tell us what you have going on right now…?

 Tashi – Many offers from all over the world, 

My art has gone into Nevada Museum of fine Art from 16th january till April ( international Contemporary Masters) book inclusion

February Oxford Art fair

April ( art Biennale )Italy.

Offer from Art Upclose (  NewYork, Monoco and Spectrum )

Offer from Taza biennial morocco.

Many more.

 Q – 4 Which are your favorite artists…?

Tashi – Picasso, Joan Miro, Chris Offili, Chagall, Matisse, Van Gogh, Rothko, Andy Warhol, Salvador Dali

Q – 5 What is your biggest dream…?

 Tashi – To be in Tate Modern And Art Basel 

Website url: http://www.tashikhan.co.uk/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/zanytashi

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Fabtashikhan/

Instagram: http://www.pikore.com/tashizart

http://www.oxfordinternationalartfair.com

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2016 by in Art.
