Global Art Agency News

International. Contemporary. Art.

“Wa-Dakara – Kimono Art” Art based on the Kimono “Tatami-Komi” – Tokyo International Art Fair

Tokyo International Art FairMiho Kanamori (1968) Tokorozawa, Saitama, Japan www.wadakara.com Created “Wa-Dakara – Kimono Art” in 2014. Her work focuses on the Art featured on the Kimono and in presenting this in a framed medium what she calls “Tatami-Komi” (similar to Origami), the system Miho developed demonstrates the design area of the Kimono without dismantling, cutting or damaging the precious Kimono, the entire Kimono is thereby preserved in its original form.

How would you describe yourself? And your artwork?
I’m a Scientist and Chemical Engineer however, today I see myself as an Artisan involved in the preservation of Japanese “Human Treasure”.

I’ve been involved with Kimono all my life and my family has been in the industry for more than 100 years. Kimono as we know them today came into being during the Heian period over 1200 years ago, the skills of the artisans involved in these creations are dying out and must be preserved, to this end, my work.

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 13.35.25What drives you?
The need to preserve my cultural heritage and to share it with as wide an audience as possible in an accessible and acceptable manner. And to maintain my family involvement in the Kimono industry for generations to come.

What is your definition of art?
An expression or application of human creative skill and imagination.

Where do you get your inspiration?
From my family and colleagues, our culture and the breathtaking beauty of each and every Kimono I work with.

Where do you see your art going in ten years?
I see my work in Homes, Offices, Galleries and Museums throughout the world.

Can you tell us what you have going on right now?
I’m working on compiling and cataloguing my work for publication. Building an international presence via my website and identifying international platforms to demonstrate my work.

Can you tell us what your ‘Before I Die’ is?
To see my future grandchildren employed at Wa-Dakara.

Would love to exhibit my work in …
I would like to exhibit my work in key Art Fairs and Galleries in Europe and North America and eventually in every major city in the world.

Follow Miho: Facebook and visit the website: www.wadakara.com

Miho will be displaying and selling the artworks at the Tokyo International Art Fair at stand #092 in the Foyer.

About Joelle Dinnage

Leave a comment

Visit our website